Simple lists within tasks

I’ve been using OF this way or another since 2010. From time to time I check other tools out of curiosity because I am read about them, or because I encounter them through co-workers (Trello being one example), but at the end of the day I stick with OF because all in all it can do what the other tools can and then much, much more. There are a couple of features that I encountered in other tools I wish OF had. One is having the ability to have simple checklists (or at least one) within tasks, and I am curious what people’s feelings are about this, or whether there is a way to accomplish what I would like to get out of the lists.

I saw those in Trello, Things 3, Wunderlist (now MS Todo), and even Habitica - a simple list I can generate within a task I can quickly check off. OF has the ability to create sub-tasks, which I appreciate, as those are sometimes needed. But more often than I need sub-tasks with all the bells and whistles (which I appreciate greatly, by the way), I find that I would like the ability to quickly add a list to a task that will help me remember all that needs to be done to accomplish it. I don’t need due dates for the list items, or tags, attachments, or anything of that sort. For instance, there is a medicine I take daily for a subscription, make sure it is delivered, go to the pharmacy to put in the order for the meds themselves, and then pick them up. The important dates are the initial call to get the prescription, so that I don’t run out, and then picking up the meds - so a defer and due dates. Everything else needs to be done between the initial call and the drive to the pharmacy. Since 99 out 100 times I use OF on my iPhone, needing to enter intermediary tasks is extremely tedious, and I wish I could outline them in a checklist.

Thoughts?

4 Likes

It’s a good idea. It might be do-able with task groups but it might be simpler with lists attached to tasks.