Strikethrough Shortcut Mac?

Hello people,

I am new to OO. Is there a way to assign the strikethrough a shortcut? I can do it with the Inspector, but there is no shortcut function in menubarbar or in the keyboard shortcuts in the OO settings.

Would be glad for Help or a workaround!

Have you considered using Styles? You could create a style that only adds a strikeout to the selection (but there are other options in the Selection Style inspector, e.g. colouring, double-stroke, spaces between words). If it’s one of the first document styles, it will be assigned a function key shortcut. Then, you could save that document as a template and it would be in any future documents as well.

1 Like

Dear Mockman, thank you very much for this tip! Event the OF Support didnt mention it. I will try it out later when I have time. But as a fast question: "Lets say my text is pre formatted. Will the applying of the format which only includes strikethrough delete all the other formattings as well?

It shouldn’t affect anything else. The way the styles work in OO, one doesn’t affect another (unless I guess they contained the opposite format, e.g. turn strikeout off). You can always have the inspector open and look at the Style Attributes at the bottom and observe what changes occur as you toggle the style on or off.

Funny… I’ve been avoiding strikeout for years because I found it irksome to use. But recently I was doing something that I really wanted it for and so I started reading any posts here that discussed the issue. I tried some various things, and each got me thinking a little more and when I saw another style in my own document, it got me thinking of using that mechanism. It’s kind of obvious now that I think about it :) I haven’t played around much with it yet but it works fine for me so far. Wish I’d thought of it earlier.

1 Like