Sync often takes minutes, is it my internet connection?!

Hi guys,

I’ve got OmniFocus 2 installed on my Mac and also got the app for the iPhone.

For some reason, even though I only have about 200 items in OmniFocus (no attachments, just some text notes) quite often it takes longer than a minute until the sync is done. To me this seems strange.

Every other app/sync that I use is super-fast and usually I don’t even notice it’s syncing. I have fast internet (50mbit down, 10mbit up) and my devices are also up-to-date. Also other apps just sync right away once I change something, no need to hit the sync-button or wait for the next sync. And it doesn’t take a second. Well it’s 2014 right?

Now I wonder if this is considered normal? I mean it’s just some text it has to sync, it’s not a 1gb database or whatever…why would it take 2 minutes to do that? Being a programmer myself I just wonder what the heck it is doing?!

Enough rant, my question to you guys is: am I the only one with that issue right now? And does anyone have experience if speed improves using a fast webdav-service?

Marco

Hey Marco, my db with 200+ items syncs in next to nothing- seems to be local…

hi Mat,

you using it on a mac and iOS devices?

Marco

Both, actually… I am also using a webDAV… You could try changing to Omnisync, depending on where You currently live this might improve matters. For me that’s the sync taking too long, living in germany. Do You know where Your WebDAV providers servers are located (is it Your own, best of all)? If You live in Germany (or close), I have good experience with GMX servers- they provide DAV access and are really fast… Maybe that even helps abroad, I heard they also operate in the US?

Hope that helps,

Mat

Jup, thanks! Will try to setup WebDAV :)

Yeah, You should, it’s really really easy and improves matters BIG TIME…

All the best, mat