Team ressources: Assigning members on a week to week basis?

Hi there, I’m Arne and I’m new to OmniPlan.

At the moment, I’m giving OmniPlan a try with one of our new projects.

Our team is not full time (or even “half time”) on this project, but more on a week to week basis. That means one person might work on my project for 2 days this week, 1 day the next week, and 3 the week after that.

This is due to the fact that our team members work on multiple projects all the time. (We’re a small agency.)

So, back to my question:
What’s the best way to mirror this varying workdays for my project in OmniPlan?

My first idea was to have no “regular” working hours. Instead I’d set all the working hours as extra hours, to be able to mirror our non-regular project assignments.

But I’m not sure if this is the way to go, and I’d gladly receive some inspirations :)

1 Like

Here are two suggestions - I don’t know whether either of then will help.

1. Estimate the average availability for each resource over the life of the project. In the example you used, average availability over the 3 week period would be 40%. This is simple, but has some challenges:
    – You need an advance view of the person’s availability to be able to estimate reliably (and reasonable confidence that it won’t change too radically or often
    – Your view of work completion will be only approximate during the work progress. That may matter, or it may not, depending on the type of work.
    – Your view of running cost will be only approximate until the project completes.

2. Break the project down into individual small tasks and allocate resources per task. That will give you accuracy, but it could turn into a lot of work planning, tracking and updating.

A lot depends on whether you’re primarily concerned with estimating duration of tasks (so resource allocation is a means to an end), or resource allocation (either for cost management or to feed into a resource management process).