The ways to use Estimated Time in OmniFocus 2 ▸ Tips & Discussion

I really enjoyed old grandpa OmniFocus 1 and being able to quickly add estimated time (tab tab tab), as well being able to use this field for sorting and grouping. Unfortunately for me, and many others, this feature even remains, is not an easy task to make a solid use of it.

Download links at the bottom.

I. My way of using Estimated Time in OmniFocus 2

1. AppleScript
I’m not a programmer with zero experience in AppleScript. Luckily some users on this forum were very helpful to kick things off. Based on trial and error I created 8 scripts assigning different times. I find it less time consuming, than having 1 script, putting the number and confirming. 8 scripts, 8 shortcuts. Press and done.
The scripts are for the estimated time of: 1h, 2h, 30m, 15m, 5m, 3h, 5h, 4h (in the order for the shortcuts).

2. Keyboard Maestro.
I assigned ⌘+1, 2, 3… shortcuts for different estimates. This way I’m able to process it quickly.

3. Using in OmniFocus
I don’t find it useful to create perspectives, which would include the estimated time field. There is a limited number of choices:

I look in the Forecast perspective for the today’s tasks, mark them all, and execute another AppleScript, which is a modified version of the one from here.
I just cut out all the unnecessary code, so I can execute the script with a shortcut and immediately see the info of how much time is planned.
This gives me a solid idea of the plan for the day/date, a need to reschedule something, add more tasks, etc.

After many different approaches, many tries and basically time wasted, I gave up on finding other or better ways, and I use this option only, for what’s mentioned above.

Hopefully it can help to someone, as well maybe someone will share something useful.

II. What does OF2 lack? What features for Estimated Time would be great to see?

Being able to:

• see the estimates on the task, not only in the Inspector window