Toggle Availability via Shortcut or Script?

Hello!
Is there a way to toggle Availability via Shortcut or Script?

Available -> Remaining -> All

Especially in own perspectives it is cumbersome to set this in view options.

Thanks
Michael

1 Like

There was someone from Omni here in 2015 saying that a feature request for this will be created.

Now 4 years later no news? I mean this should be about 30-60 minutes maximum to implement - I am a developer myself.

So please OmniGroup, do something about this!

For a couple years now, I’ve used AppleScripts in OmniFocus 2 to switch between the different task availability filter states by hotkeys, and it is incredibly useful. Keyboard Maestro tells me, I have invoked those AppleScripts a little over 1800 times so far. 🙂

Unfortunately, there is a bug in OmniFocus 3 that causes those script commands to only work with the built-in perspectives and not with custom perspectives, where they are needed most (see here, for more details). I’ve filed a bug report about it 6 weeks ago, but haven’t heard back yet.

I’m actually still using OmniFocus 2 (even though I bought OF3 soon after it was released), and not being able to quickly switch between the different task state filters is one of the main reasons for this decision.

I was happy with being able to toggle the availability filter via AppleScript, but now that I think about it, it would make so much more sense to have this basic functionality available via menu items / shortcuts, so that every user had access to it, and not just the 10% or so of users that extend OmniFocus via AppleScript.

Now for the most important part: