Tutorial on Repeating Tasks and Projects

Hello all. I have been using OF for many years but have never mastered repeating projects and tasks. It still feels like black magic. It appears to defy logic and I do not understand how repeating items work in OF. I have searched and followed other examples without success.

I am using OmniFocus-MacAppStore-2.5.x, and the current version for IOS on an iPhone 6 Plus.

Is there a tutorial available which demystifies the process to reliably create repeating tasks?

Here are some examples:

{Desired Behavior: MTWTF at 8AM each task within the project becomes Available. When I complete each task, it is deferred again for the following morning at 8AM. If I skip one or more tasks on a given day I do not want them to stack up, I just want to complete it when I get to it and then have it automatically appear as a task the following morning.}

Project: Process Inboxes Each Week Day
-Task: Voicemail
-Task: Evernote
-Task: Paper inbox
-Task: Email1
-Task: Email2
-Task: Email3
-Task: Email4

Project: Reading News
-Task: News site1
-Task: News site2
-Task: News site3
-Task: News site4

I find that setting due dates works more reliably than defer, but I do not want them to stack up if I skip a day.

How is this accomplished? Do tasks inherit the defer properties of the project, or do I set the repeating defer for each task within a project?

Thank you! I have been looking at other task managers for this reason alone, but would prefer to stay with OF.

-Mitch

1 Like

No black magic :) if you set a project to defer at 8am one day on completion if you don’t do it, it will not repeat until you do.

Repeat/defer is really no more than replicate on done with a new date. I have a single action list called “rituals” which has all my morning tasks each defer daily at 8am. I have a separate perspective for those, and a “meta task” to check this perspective which appears on my daily dashboard.

1 Like