Weekly goals and omnifocus

I’m still learning to use OmniFocus, and I am trying a method where I flag my primary daily tasks, but I’m curious if anyone uses a way to emphasize their weekly goals? Right now I put them into Evernote, but I’d love to hear other options.

I would highly suggest checking out Getting Things Done, it is the primary methodology behind a typical Omni Focus workflow and without understand the key components of this methodology it might be though to really make sense of why things are where they are.

1 Like

Thanks. I’m working through it now! I expect it will take me some time to get the bugs sorted out.

1 Like

Yeah totally, it took me a few solid weeks to get into the swing of things, but I have no idea how I ever lived before this. :)

Wishing you the best of luck!

I’m a hardcore GTDist, and have used it for the last decade. I have found value, though, in goal-setting in the course of a Weekly Review for the next one.

In OF, I have a Goals context which sits second front he top of my Contexts list, where I will articulate per-project things I want to see progress (some of my projects are pretty long term). Obviously, this isn’t necessary for projects that last only a few days, and while I could use the Notes field for this in my Projects (clarifying the outcomes that these projects are moving towards), I found a separate task in my face to be more effective.

I also have a Goals perspective to focus me in on those things through the week.

Of course, YMMV, but I found this to be a great complement to project-level planning and context-level doing.

ScottyJ

2 Likes

Thanks. Can you help me better understand how you implement this? For instance, if a particular task is a weekly goal, do you change it’s context to @goals? Or do you add a new set of tasks as goals?