What books on personal productivity are you reading?

I drive a lot. Consequently, I try to improve my mind by listing to audio books… My car is my university. It’s also my daughter’s canteen and dog’s bed but that’s a bit off topic.

There are some books which have really resonated over the years, and some which have been so appalling, I’ve nearly driven into a lamp post.

Firstly, does anyone have a personal favourite, which they keep coming back to?

And secondly, have you tied it into your implementation of Omnifocus.

Obviously I am not including anything by David Allen

Currently I am listening to Covey (the other one’s) 4 Disciplines of Execution. I’m broadly sympathetic to it’s message but not entirely sure yet.

Rather unconventionally, I have just finished The Nerdist Way by Chris Hardwick, which was hysterical- by far the funniest book on productivity I’ve found, and properly rude- bonus points. And swearing (more bonus points, I’m a soldier).

I’ve also quite enjoyed Zen to Done, but realised that it doesn’t account for the maelstrom of stuff that flies towards me each week. “Sorry, Colonel, but I am only committing myself to three tasks this morning” is a phrase which will never pass my lips.

Anyone?

The 7 Habits book is like David Allen’s GTD books. I’ve found that I had to put it away for a year before re-reading it. I would often pick up different things that i didn’t discover on the previous reading. I’d put it away for another year and re-read it again.

Zen-To-Done was my pathway to GTD. I tried David Allen’s way first and just fell off the bandwagon. Then I tried ZTD and was able to successfully adopt many of the GTD practices over time. I think that ZTD is more of a beginner’s introduction to GTD. But many experienced GTD practitioners can definitely pick up a lot of tips from the ZTD and incorporate it into their existing system.

Although it’s not an audiobook, I did find a couple of books that were helpful.