What kind of text format I can use to Import my list of projects and their actions to Omnifocus

Hi,

I am new to Omnifocus, I have a list of projects with their related tasks in a text file (csv format). I was wondering if I can import that text file to create my projects with their task in OmniFocus 2.

Sanam

Unfortunately, though we have an open request to directly import CSV into OmniFocus, it’s not yet possible. There is a work-around, and I apologize in advance for the extra work.

If you convert your CSV text file into a tab-delimited text file (using your favorite spreadsheet, perhaps), you can import that into OmniOutliner (the free trial works for this), available for free Download from:

https://www.omnigroup.com/omnioutliner/

OmniOutliner will build a structured outline of your tasks and projects, and once you save that as an OmniOutliner document, you can open it in OmniFocus by selecting File ▸ Import OmniOutliner Document…

The importer also allows mapping of your OmniOutliner import columns to:

• Title
  • Context
  • Due Date
  • Defer Until
  • Duration

…and then everything else (mapped to Metadata) is entered into the Notes field. If you have a lot of extra columns of metadata that you don’t need, you can trim those columns in either OmniOutliner or a spreadsheet, before importing.

One of our customers also wrote this ↓ blog post about this process, which you might find of use (yea for screenshots!):

http://johnscullen.com/how-to-migrate-your-stuff-from-toodledo-to-omnifocus/

Hopefully we’ll be able to have a direct CSV import someday. It would certainly make testing out OmniFocus much easier! It is worth noting that if you need to move back out of OmniFocus again, we do support exporting to CSV.

I hope this helps!
~Anne

2 Likes

How sad. Still no way to import using CSV. It’s been on the roadmap since at least 2012. Why not provide a due date. Surely you have one in your OmniPlan or OmniFocus file.

So…any update?