What type of custom perspectives does everyone have?

I’m still new to OF3, and I have only one custom perspective (for items missing a due date). I’m interested to learn what other perspectives people have set up and how they use them. Any suggestions?

Here’s a directory of custom perspectives that I added to my Learn OmniFocus site earlier this year:

https://learnomnifocus.com/perspectives/

There are currently ten listed, and I’m planning to add more soon. I’m also planning to include both Mac and iOS screenshots.

I hope you find this helpful!

4 Likes

These are good, but I find them a little confusing without more of an explanation. Maybe it’s just because I’m not that familiar with perspectives. I’ll try some out and learn along the way. Thanks.

Thanks for your feedback. Is there anything in particular that you find confusing?

This page does assume some knowledge of custom perspectives and OmniFocus in general. I may include a short tutorial video at the top of the page to introduce the concept of custom perspectives.

It was confusing to set up some of the filter rules, but once I figured out how to set up nested “All of the following” and “None of the following” settings, then it became clearer.

The other part that I found missing was an explanation of the use of the “[” character. I’m assuming I missed something that was probably explained elsewhere. I’m also assuming that this was a custom addition for a specific reason, such as creating custom perspectives.

This particular page, although very helpful, is probably best viewed as part of a series of pages read in a specific order. I did not have the time to go back through the other pages to read or examine any missed content, so that is likely my fault. Otherwise, the page was very helpful.

1 Like

The best thing to do is to experiment. Try out one or two perspectives at a time. Playing with too many perspectives at one time can get overwhelming.