What's up with the new forums?

OK I’m totally lost, had to create a new account, the new forum to put it plainly, sucks. Can’t find or see or follow anything easily. Lots; fo wasted space, no simple display of threads, takes up too much room on my screen and less information.

I sure hope this isn’t the style that the new Omnifocus SW is or I’ll be really upset. What happened to a clean simple easy to follow forum structure?

Hey Oogie! Give it a little bit of time — there’s a whole lot here in Discourse to like.

It is totally separate, though, so a new account was necessary. Sorry about that!

5 Likes

You might think there is a lot to like, I see change for change sakes only with insufficient added features to warrant the hassle. It’s spread out and hard to navigate.

1 Like

These new forums are incredible. They will take a little adjustment. I’ve been using them for a couple months for the OF2 test, and this what I’ve grown to love about them.

(1) Live previews while composing
(2) Composing stays active while browsing
(3) While composing, possible posts popup showing you what you may be looking for to avoid posting an existing topic
(4) Using Like instead of always replying with “Thanks” or “Awesome”. This cuts down on the thread count when people simply want to agree
(5) Using the @ to address someone
(6) Seeing the number of posts remaining with a status bar while reading towards the bottom-right
(7) A notification center that shows you who replied or liked your followed posts at the top-right
(8) When reading replies, quickly read the entire thread in relation to that response
(9) Fading background colors for new posts and to give a sense of location on the forums
(10) The look fits into Omni’s flat/modern design IMO

4 Likes

I’m not a fan of the new forums. Don’t care for seeing user icons on the topic lists (too busy with really no functional benefit), and how are the topics sorted? Doesn’t seen to be by last activity for some reason.