Why I'm switching to Things, again

It makes me sad to leave Omnifocus. I’m posting my thoughts because as a fellow software developer I enjoy insight into how people are using my application, what they like, and what they dislike. I also think if Omnifocus added a few more features, it could capture what makes Things great.

What Things has

Today view:

• It’s re-orderable! This is huge. It sounds silly, and no it isn’t “needed”. However, it provides a tremendous sense of calm to arrange and view today’s tasks in the order in which you plan to do them (which is why many of us use GTD in the first place). I’ve read every argument against this: What order should they appear in when a new task is added? (ask Cultured Code), it isn’t part of GTD, it isn’t needed, etc. Whatever. It’s the most basic way possible to prioritize a list. My daily priorities don’t always match up with the order of my projects in project hierarchy. The fact this is available provides relief and calm. It’s a huge feature I’ve seen other people after across the Internet.
  • Start and due items collect there if I fall off the gtd wagon for 2 days because life happens. They don’t disappear! I am calm because I know I will see them whenever I do get back to Things. Omnifocus’s actions with start dates will be out of view in Forecast perspective if they’re 2 days past start. They are things I’m planning on starting that day but not due that day. I need to create a separate, custom perspective to see these. Do-able, but just another thing to check every day. Little friction areas like this add up, especially in something that is supposed to streamline your life.