Align Series of Rows and Columns

I’m new to Omnigraffle and trying to get over the learning curve.

I’d like to use this product primarily for AWS diagrams. There are a whole bunch of stencils where people have setup AWS simple icons (https://aws.amazon.com/architecture/icons/) out there but many are out of date or otherwise have issues. Found some on Graffletopia but seriously… I’m not paying money for diagramming software stencils.

So, my thought was to create a stencil using the EPS files available from Amazon. Here is where I get confused. I can drag and drop them on to a canvas, save the stencil and use them, however they show up as a mess in the first stencil window. (Hard to explain what I mean, when you open the stencils window three are three little icons, one is a bunch of overlapping squares, the second 4 aligned squares, and the third a group of horizontal lines. The first window shows as a mess so I want to align all of the EPS icons on the canvas in a neat group of columns and rows. I’m trying to use the “Align” menu but am just utterly confused. Is there an easy way to snap these objects into an evenly spaced “table” (like 5 columns across and multiple rows)?

Complete newbie with this software, any help would be appreciated.

Regards,
Trex

I can’t understand that, I am not responding to that.

I can understand that, I am responding to that, only.

Yes.

1. First, you must use a Grid, and use it consistently, so that there is a Grid to Snap to, and spacing to Space to.

2. There is an Alignment Inspector tool, which works well for me (I don’t think I have ever used the Arrange/Align menu). It is visual and simple to use. And mostly intuitive. I say mostly, because the older releases of OG were more intuitive, the newer releases are counter-intuitive. These instructions and graphics are from OG 5.4.4. It took me all of five clicks to produce the stencil that I think you mean to produce.