Art boards: can someone explain simply?

I have OG Pro. I’m testing out the beta. Art boards seems to be a big new feature. It’s early in the morning where I live, so I may be denser than usual … but the purpose of art boards is very opaque to me. There’s a lot of help text about artboards but most of it at the beginning doesn’t help me at all.

… “Art boards aren’t like regular layers, art boards go below, not above. blah blah blah. Stuff about how art boards don’t seem to do anything different. blah blah blah.”" And then I’m done reading.

… before I dive into how to create an art board, or how it’s different from regular layers, as a novice I don’t need all that technicality right away. (It’s definitely needed, just not first thing.) Starting at sentence one I’d like to know not how it’s different, not how to implement, but WHY I’d want to use an art board. How does it help me (potentially), what can I do with art boards that I couldn’t without, etc.

… can anyone simply describe the power/function of art boards in this fashion? I still have no idea if it’s a new tool I’ll adore, or just need to ignore (as I’m sure it will be great for some folks).

The artboards define exportable areas on the canvas.

Let’s say I’m working on a website mockup in Omnigraffle and draw three graphics I intend to use on a web page. Once I’m done I need to export each graphic a a separate file. I don’t need the entire mockup exported, but only those three graphics. So I define an artboard around each of them, a total of three artboards → export artboards as PNG or SVG → done.

@Tudor Thanks for the very clear explanation. I just tested it out and it works a charm!!! Fantastic new feature. Easy to use.

Nothing against you, Tudor. This is about the software.

This sounds exactly like the other New Feature (the one with the box that does absolutely nothing when clicked) that works perfectly.