Looking for ways to automate getting actions from meeting notes in to OF

I’ve been using OF for a few months now and it is having a very positive effect on my ability to stay on top of an extremely hectic work life.

Many times a day (in meetings, one-to-one conversations with colleagues and clients, on calls, or when alone and brainstorming something) I am taking notes which end up as a mixture of notes, thoughts, ideas and actions.

Rather than have to then go through those and copy/paste items to OF entry box or send multiple emails to the OF Mailbox I’d like the actions to be automatically identified and added to OmniFocus , either as individual items in the Inbox or even if possible being added to the relevant projects, contexts with due dates based on syntax I could include when capturing

I have:

• OmniFocus Pro
  • Hazel
  • Evernote
  • SimpleNote
  • nvALT
  • Dropbox
  • No experience in scripting but happy to do the hard work once I am
    confident what should be possible :-)

This also happens from iOS (iPad or iPhone) - this is a less pressing concern as I have found a Drafts action that can process lots of actions from a single draft to Omnifocus inbox.

I’m flexible on which capture tool I use if it means that I can capture my notes and then forget about having to manually add the actions to OmniFocus.

So, where can I start? :-/
Help me ObiFocus, you’re my only hope ;-)

Thanks

1 Like

OK, I’ve found something that could be an important part of a solution to this.

Take a look at this blog post : http://joebuhlig.com/omnifocus-auto-parser/ and the previous post it references http://joebuhlig.com/using-omnifocus-for-somedaymaybe-lists/

I’ve set up a Hazel rule as shown and it uses the parsing script to take the title of suitably formated actions in the Inbox and assign them to projects/contexts/due dates/time estimates/notes.