Revamping My OmniFocus Structure

With the release of OmniFocus 3 for iOS, it’s got me thinking about figuring out what the best way to organize my OmniFocus system might be.

In reflecting, it made me think of a few key things I want to get out of using the task manager. The biggest thing is that I want to of course easily see what tasks I have to complete. More specifically I want to see what tasks I need to complete that are routine tasks as well as other tasks relating to my personal life and work life. In addition, making my life easier for common repeating tasks or utilizing checklists when appropriate to provide some systems to my work too. Also for reference by profession, I am a teacher (applying for jobs now). I intend to use OmniFocus to organize myself not only in my personal life but also my upcoming work life.

My previous folder structure was messy at best. I had the following folders:

1. Current Projects
  • Routines
    1. Goals
  • Cleaning
    1. Personal
    1. When I Have Time
    1. Reference To Put Somewhere
    1. Side Project
  • Should I Delete?

In looking back this made absolutely terrible sense as my work has changed and wasn’t very organized. For a while, I was goal oriented but I’m not quite sure how to approach this now. I’ve deleted my Goals folder for now but in it had projects for fitness/health, reading, finances, cleaning, etc. I found I was inconsistent in using it. Ideally, if I choose to make goals, I would visit them daily or weekly to ensure I’m making progress. I’ve realized that my Current Projects folder had too much stuff. I’ve changed some things and filed when appropriate to other places.

In simplifying things I have the following now complete with emoji’s as it makes it more fun!

🧑🏻 Personal Projects
🔄 Admin Routines
👩‍💼 Admin Actions
Work
5) Goals (Still have this for now as there are a few goals I wanna work on)
🚧Someday/Maybe