SVG support still very poor

I just downloaded OmniGraffle 7 beta, just to check the level of SVG support. I just picked the first public SVG file that came to my mind, the OpenStreetMap logo. I was extremely pleased that it was imported as multiple editable objects. Unfortunately, it seems that the level of sophistication is still very poort. http://imgur.com/Sjo3zPO says it all.

I’m no expert in this field, but perhaps there is some “Acid” test available somewhere (like there was when CSS was created for webbrowsers).

1 Like

Unit testing by the developer would be a good idea.

The reason we refer to the feature as “Basic SVG Import” is because we know it doesn’t support everything. The complete SVG standard is surprisingly complex, with a whole raft of completely different unrelated ways of parsing things. For example, the basic structure is XML, and you can apply styles as XML tags. But you can also apply styles using CSS, which is its own hugely complex standard involving tags, inheritance, etc. And to parse a custom path, you have to write a custom parser for yet another language that has its own idiosyncratic rules like letting you skip any punctuation or verbs that you could determine from context.

And, of course, the SVG standard is in the process of changing. Some of this helps simplify things, except that you still have to read stuff written in the old standard also so really it just makes things even more complex.

Which is not to say that we’re not continuing to work on it: we are. Just to let you know that our goal isn’t to have perfect support for all possible SVG files in 7.0. (For example, we currently don’t try to read text at all.)

Please do let us know where the current limitations are getting in your way, so we know what work to prioritize!

Thanks @kcase for your detailed response.