Time-based diagram build for a presentation – best method?

Hi there,

I’m a experienced graphic designer but new to OG, and most diagramming software.

I’ve made a couple of organisational diagrams for my client – quite graphically rich rather than just dry hierarchical tree diagrams.

My client and I want to be able to present these as presentations that build sequentially – first one block appears, representing one part of their business, then another, then lines and arrows linking various parts and so on.

The presentation needs to be transportable and shareable (it can’t depend on the user having omnigraffle) so I’ve ended up adding each build stage as a separate layer, turning visibility on or off, then making a pdf export for each page of the presentation. In Acrobat, I then stitch the separate PDF files together and – voila – my client can take their presentation anywhere.

However, this is clunky as hell from my end and as soon as edits are required or new build stages need to be inserted, I have to export the whole sequence again from scratch. It’s a fifty-something page PDF.

Am I missing some key functionality that will make my life easier here? Or is Graffle just not the right tool?

Could there a better workflow if I use Graffle in conjunction with another tool for example?

Sorry – I can’t think of a better way to ask this question without knowing more about the software itself.

I have a very similar need, and in several different applications.

Preface

1. I would like to say, no problem at all, doing all that in OG. But they keep removing features, so I have problems doing that in OG 6 that I did not have in OG 4. Eg. Layers are badly broken after OG 4, and that interferes with this task.

2. Understandably, it is clunky, only because you are new to the tool. I do all that in OG and I would not touch Adobe anything if you paid me. A single 55-page PDF as the final output, is the way to go (but wait for it).

Creation & Maintenance